RSS

CHOICE IS DIGNITY

30 Jul

Am stuck in the usual Nairobi end month traffic, heading to town from westlands, old school music in the background in an old mini bus. Next to me is a lady trying to keep her mind off the traffic by watching videos on her phone. On the other side seats a middle aged lady so bored she decided to close her eyes for a second. A lot of chit chat is happening and everyone else is on their phone. Me? Well am writing for you.

I decided to think about my post on Instagram. It had a picture of a grid of my different facial expressions with a caption that had caught my attention from a book I have been reading.

“…Choice is Dignity…” that’s what it read. I started thinking about the decisions I have been making and if I realised how much power I had in the choices I wanted to make. To be honest I haven’t been using this power as it should. Al speak for myself when I say that, the choices I have made have been mostly influenced by people around me. Acting like I didn’t have the choice to make them independently.
Doing things because people expect it, or because it’s the norm. Never have I stopped to think that, what I do affects me more than it would anyone else.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 30, 2015 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
